Free Certification Practice Tests and Study Guides
Join Us! | Login | Help




troubleshooting the ois model

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     |##| -> |=|     MC MCSE Certification Forums -> CCENT/CCNA
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fjohnson
Becoming a Regular
Becoming a Regular


Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 46
Location: New York

Post subject: troubleshooting the ois model
Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:30 pm
Reply with quote

Help others: Review your books and training products here

Lets say there is a problem with you NIC card and you are using the OSI model to troubleshoot, what are the steps?

7-APPLICATION
6-PRESENTATION
5-SESSION
4-TRANSPORT
3-NETWORK
2-DATALINK
1-PHYSICAL
_________________
FJohnson
A+, Network+, MCSE 2000.
soon CCNA.
Back to top
Offline View user's profile Send private message
Headhunter
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 5638
Location: New Zealand

Post subject:
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:53 am
Reply with quote

Help others: Review your books and training products here

ambigious question
if you know it's your NIC then it's layer 1
_________________
Koen
CCSI #30501 CCNP CCIP CCVP CCSP CCDP Cisco Advanced Wireless LAN Field Specialist Cisco Unity Design Specialist Cisco IP Telephony Design Specialist JNCIS-ES JNCIA-ER JNCIA-EX MCSE MCSA:Messaging
Back to top
Offline View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xerobyte
Becoming a Regular
Becoming a Regular


Joined: 02 Jul 2010
Posts: 33
Location: Kentucky

Post subject:
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:56 am
Reply with quote

Help others: Review your books and training products here

This is a rather wide question. I am assuming you mean what steps does the OSI model lead you when troubleshooting a nic.

1. Layer 1, is the NIC installed right, is it getting power? Is the cable connected to the NIC wired properly/ undamaged?

2. Layer 2, does the Nic have a bad duplex/speed setting?

3. Layer 3, Does the NIC have a static IP that isn't part of your network infrastructure, causing it to not be able to communicate with the rest of the network.

I don't know if this answers your question or not?
_________________
A+
Net+
CCENT
CCNA
Back to top
Offline View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     |##| -> |=|     MC MCSE Certification Forums -> CCENT/CCNA All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum






IT Showcase